The Iowa Jewish Historical Society is governed by a Board of Directors and served by a professional staff. Without their leadership, it would not be possible to serve the community through preservation, research, and education. To contact us, please call 515-987-0899 ext. 216 or send an email to ijhs@jewishdesmoines.org.

IJHS Staff

  • Sandi Yoder, Iowa Jewish Historical Society Director
  • Sarah Carlson, Curator and Manager of Collections
  • Zachary Quick, Oral History Assistant
  • Susan Jellinger, Oral History Assistant

Board of Directors


  • Linda Breman


  • Melanie Sandler, Vice President
  • Loretta Fingert, Secretary

Board Members

  • Karen Engman
  • Ellen Arkovich
  • Kathy Bassman
  • Barbara Leventhal-Beckerman
  • Gloria Bernstein
  • Jan Hockenberg
  • Jody Jacklin
  • Susan Jackson
  • Susie Kimelman
  • Lori Long
  • Marsha Miller
  • Dawn Martinez Oropeza
  • Randi Stern
  • Jerome Thompson
  • Jonathan Yentis
  • Bev Ellis